k.i.s.s.

I was reminded of this Hemingway quote last night as I had a moment of panic listening to other students in my class read their work out loud:

“Poor Faulkner. Does he really think big emotions come from big words? He thinks I don’t know the ten-dollar words. I know them all right. But there are older and simpler and better words, and those are the ones I use.”

If Drunk Ernie tells me it’s ok to used simple language, I’m going to keep using simple language.

One response to “k.i.s.s.

  1. Ah, lovely. My personal fave comes from some George Orwell guy:

    “Never use a long word where a short one will do.”

    Stick that in your pretentiously long word cigar and smoke it, poseurs. Ah, indeed.

Leave a Reply

