i wanna be your dog

“take a deep breath and do whatever you must to survive and find something to be that you can love.”

Iggy Pop wrote those words in his response to a fan letter.  I read the letter a few days ago over at Monitor Mix and these words, along with his salutation (“all my love to a really beautiful girl. that’s you laurence. iggy pop”) have stayed with me all week.  They’re beautiful, sweet, and make me love Iggy even more (an artist, mind you, that scared the living shit out of me when I was a kid).

More so though, I keep imagining what it must have been like to get those handwritten words from an idol when you were an awkward adolescent who felt all alone, awkward, misunderstood, an outsider.  You shoot this letter off to a music idol who, presumably, you feel is a kindred spirit, someone you can confide in, who might understand what you’re going through.

And you get those sweet and encouraging words back.  Something like that can be life-changing and, depending on where you are emotionally, life-saving.  Four days later I’m still moved by it.

Really sweet, Iggy.

8 responses to “i wanna be your dog

  1. This made me tear up. Thanks a lot @$$hole.

  2. Pingback: a little more than i can give « pandacorn babies and fluffernut dreams…

  3. I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am now not certain whether or not this put up is written through him
    as no one else recognise such distinctive about my problem.
    You’re amazing! Thank you!

  4. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I wish to counsel you few attention-grabbing things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more issues about it!

  5. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with the exact same
    comment. Is there an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  6. Good write-up. I definitely appreciate this site.
    Stick with it!

  7. Hello I am so excited I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Askjeeve for something else, Nonethewless I am here now and would just like to say
    many thanks for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot
    more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

  8. Thanks for finally talking about >i wanna be your dog | pandacorn babies and fluffernut dreams…
    <Loved it!

Leave a Reply

