crap. how could i forget.

Just to add to my movie list:

16.  Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist:  In a totally lame confession: I actually read the book years ago.  And it sucked.  So I wasn’t all that psyched to see the movie.  But I’ll watch anything that Michael Cera is in and the movie totally moved me.  Surprisingly, it wasn’t the RomCom aspect of the movie that pulled me in, though Mikey C and Kat Denning do a great job.  Two things stood out for me.  First, the movie was amazingly subversive in the way that it interwove gay and straight lives.  I’d like to think that this is how teenagers are these days, particularly ones who are growing up in urban environments.  There’s no heavy-handedness with the fact that Nick is in a “gay-core” band.  There’s no sweeping discussion of his friends’ sexual orientation.  It just…is.  Which brings me to my second point.  This movie makes you fall in love with New York, and for me, San Francisco.  All those crazy nights where you really have no idea what’s going to happen but you wind up at a few random bars, a diner at 4am, and then see the sun come up?  Those are the nights that make up your life and they’re captured in the movie’s last lines:

Norah: Are you sad that we missed it?
Nick: We didn’t miss it. This *is* it.

I love it.  The youthful innocence of being able to run around a city into the wee hours with your friends without a care in the world.  This movie brings me back to those days.

And as a caveat to my list: I haven’t seen a lot of recent flicks (e.g., 500 Days of Summer, Inglorious Basterds, and Fantastic Mr. Fox come to mind).  I’ve been too busy watching New Moon over and over again.  But I figured it would be best if I didn’t include that one in my list.  Though, really, I could.

Leave a Reply

