where do you go to my lovely?

In an attempt to synthesize what the heck went on with movies in the 2000s, I was going through my DVDs and stumbled upon The Darjeeling Limited.  I am almost certain that I am the only person in the U.S. that owns this.  I don’t even think Wes Anderson or Jason Schwartzman own it.  It was generally panned by critics but, being the hipster that I am, fuck the critics!  I liked it.

One of the reasons I loved TDL is Hotel Chevalier, the short film starring Jason Schwartzman and Natalie Portman that ran before the movie.  It was beautifully shot and I thought it captured the awkwardness of a breakup pretty well.  Plus I was listening to “Where Do You Go To My Lovely” by Peter Sarstedt on loop for weeks after this and that’s not a bad thing.

It was originally supposed to be a standalone short film that Wes Anderson financed.  But as he was filming it around TDL, Wes realized Schwartzman’s character resembled his character in TDL.  So he wove the two stories together.

One response to “where do you go to my lovely?

  1. Heh, I initially thought of the No Mercy song.

Leave a Reply

